News Page

For Immediate Release

Notice of Republican Caucus Candidates

(New Canaan, CT, September 1st, 2021) – In accordance with the bylaws and rules of the New Canaan Republican Town Committee (RTC), the following named persons were endorsed in the caucus as candidates for the following elective offices to be voted upon in the municipal election on Tuesday, November 2021.

• First Selectman (1 seat): Kevin J. Moynihan, 330 Elm Street, #6
• Selectman (1 seat): Nick Williams, 1194 Smith Ridge Road
• Town Clerk (1 seat): Claudia A. Weber, 523 Main Street
• Town Treasurer (1 seat): Andrew Brooks, 43 Park Place
• Board of Education (3 seats for 4-year term): Dan Bennett, 126 Butler Lane; Philip Hogan, 50 Old Studio Road; Julie Toal, 55 Running Brook Lane
• Board of Education (1 seat for 1-year term): Hugo Alves, 36 Parish Road
• Board of Assessment Appeals (2 seats): Pavla Levin, 74 Clapboard Hill Road; Kevin P. McIntosh, 38 Mead Street
• Town Council (4 seats): Tom Butterworth, 452 Main Street; Luke J. Kaufman, 147 Field Crest Road; Kimberly Norton, 17 Green Avenue; Penny Young, 52 Indian Rock Road

The RTC has nominated the following named persons, in compliance with RTC rules, to be endorsed as candidates for the elective office of Constable. Constable candidates do not file petitions.

• Constable (4 seats): Arvind Bajaj, 149 Parish Road; Jill Guzzetti, 106 Lakeview Avenue, #4234; Mary Anne Mercogliano, 77 Grove Street; Gregory Pepe, 36 Fitch Lane

A copy of the bylaws and rules of the RTC are available online at


For Immediate Release

(New Canaan, CT, August 17th, 2021) We are overjoyed to announce that the Republican candidate, Ryan Fazio, won the election together with his NC team led by our own Maria Dezse Weingarten, who spearheaded the NC grassroots efforts. A change is coming! We worked hard and appreciate your support, and your votes!



WHEREAS, Connecticut’s towns and cities successfully use local zoning and planning processes to balance private property rights, the community’s interests, demands on infrastructure, housing needs, and economic growth; and

WHEREAS, local control and decision making empowers the residents and taxpayers of each town and city to carefully tailor zoning policies that reflect its unique geography, economy, and housing market; and

WHEREAS, localized decision making ensures the greatest level of accountability while allowing affected community members the greatest level of input and the platform through a public hearing to provide specific, relevant information on potential impacts that only they would have knowledge of; and

WHEREAS, local control and local input enable neighbors and the local community to provide beneficial suggestions, identify errors and maximize community buy-in on zoning proposals; and

WHEREAS, proposals have been introduced in the General Assembly to strip local planning and zoning processes from towns and cities; and
WHEREAS, proposals have been introduced in the General Assembly to allow BY RIGHT market value multi-family development that will not generate any new affordable housing units; and

WHEREAS, proposals have been introduced in the General Assembly to allow outside Housing Authorities within 15 miles radius to develop affordable housing projects within our town; and

WHEREAS, BY RIGHT multi-family development can lead to exponential market value overbuilding and can cause adverse impacts to town infrastructure; and

WHEREAS, BY RIGHT development gives outsized rights to builders over all other property owners and prevents local Planning and Zoning Commissions from identifying the potential impacts of their project and imposing conditions upon a developer to address those direct impacts; and

WHEREAS, eliminating public hearings and community input on zoning matters would have unintended consequences such as increased infrastructure costs, increased local property taxes, and reduced home and business values which will be borne by the town residents; and

WHEREAS, each town and city already have the choice to modify or abolish its zoning ordinances if the elected town or city government decides it best serves the community’s interests; and

NOW BE IT RESOLVED the REPUBLICAN TOWN COMMITTEE of the town of NEW CANAAN opposes any State Mandated one size fits all Zoning Legislation and the ability of any outside housing authority to have jurisdiction over our town’s Affordable Housing plan and any similar legislation that would further overrule, remove or diminish local control and decision making related to planning and zoning or affordable housing from the town of New Canaan; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution shall be sent to all State Representatives and State Senators representing this town, to the Governor, all members of the State Legislature’s Planning and Development, Finance, Transportation and Housing Committees, and to all legislators sponsoring bills that remove local control of planning and zoning and affordable housing.

Republican Caucus

TUESDAY, JANUARY 7, 2020 at 7:30 P.M.

Notice is hereby given to all enrolled Republican electors that a Caucus will be held at 7:30 p.m. on Tuesday, January 7, 2020 in the Town Meeting Room of the New Canaan Town Hall, 77 Main Street, New Canaan, Connecticut, for the purpose of voting to endorse candidates for membership on the New Canaan Republican Town Committee (RTC) for a two-year term of office from March 2020 to March 2022 and to act on such other matters as may properly come before the Caucus. All New Canaan registered Republicans are welcome to attend and vote to endorse candidates.

Pursuant to Party Rules, each candidate seeking endorsement by the Caucus must have filed a petition of candidacy signed by at least twenty-five (25) enrolled Republicans residing in New Canaan, Connecticut by the published December 13, 2019 deadline. Party Rules exclude all other forms of nomination.

The following fourteen (14) Republicans, registered and residing in New Canaan, Connecticut, have filed timely petitions of candidacy signed by at least twenty-five (25) enrolled Republicans.

Cristina Aguirre-Ross 300 Lost District Drive
Darren W. Bruno 6 River Street
Nicholas Claude Colabella 232 Greenley Road
Patrick F. Donovan 189 Brookwood Lane
Gene Goodman 327 Old Norwalk Road
John J. Kriz 1370 Ponus Ridge
Daniel A. LaGattuta 78 Brooks Road
Pavla K. Levin 74 Clapboard Hill Road
Mary Anne Mercogliano 77 Grove Street
James T. O’Hora 382 White Oak Shade Road
Janice E. Schaefer 581 Laurel Road
Anthony M. Sillo 691 Old Stamford Road
Maria Weingarten 115 Lone Tree Farm Road
E. Whitney Williams 1194 Smith Ridge Road

Party Rules state that the RTC shall consist of no more than twenty (20) members. Since the number of successful candidates is fewer than that number, the Caucus shall endorse the above-named candidates.

The Caucus Room will be open at 7:00 p.m. to allow time for the Registrar to verify the status of each enrolled Republican seeking to be part of the Caucus body.


2019 2nd News Release-Caucus